All dogs age 4 months and older are required by New York State to be licensed. Authority to issue dog licenses and all licensing requirements is prescribed in Article 7 of the New York State Agriculture and Markets Law.
New dog licenses are issued by the Town Clerk, during normal Town Hall hours. A current rabies certificate is required to obtain the license.
As of January 1, 2011 NYS has turned over the entire licensing process to the local municipalities. This means when you renew your dog license for 2011 you will receive a new Town dog tag with a new license number and the State tag number will be phased out. In addition NYS has also created an Animal Population Control Fund charging $ 1.00 for spayed and neutered dogs, and
$ 3.00 for unspayed and unneutered dogs.
Spayed/ neutered dog charge is now $ 4.00 per dog
Unspayed/Unneutered dog charge is now $ 14.00 per dog
Please remember to replace your dog’s tag!